The Sweetness of Water

But this sanctuary survives on a knife's edge, and it isn't long before the inhabitants of the nearby town of Old Ox react with fury at the alliances being formed only a few miles away . . . '[A] highly accomplished debut' Sunday Times ...

The Sweetness of Water

The Sweetness of Water

**OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB PICK FOR SUMMER 2021** '[A] highly accomplished debut' Sunday Times An extraordinary novel of life after slavery for readers of WASHINGTON BLACK, THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD and DAYS WITHOUT END. In the dying days of the American Civil War, newly freed brothers Landry and Prentiss find themselves cast into the world without a penny to their names. Forced to hide out in the woods near their former Georgia plantation, they're soon discovered by the land's owner, George Walker, a man still reeling from the loss of his son in the war. When the brothers begin to live and work on George's farm, the tentative bonds of trust and union begin to blossom between the strangers. But this sanctuary survives on a knife's edge, and it isn't long before the inhabitants of the nearby town of Old Ox react with fury at the alliances being formed only a few miles away . . . Readers have been swept away by The Sweetness of Water: 'Such a powerful, magnificent book; I urge you to read it. The comparisons with Colson Whitehead are justified' ***** 'A staggering debut and a story that stays with you' ***** 'Thought-provoking and moving . . . a gripping and compelling novel that exposes flaws, mixed emotions and imperfect relationships, and yet it holds on with determination and hope. It fully deserves a 5-star rating' ***** 'Outstanding . . . A book that deserves widespread recognition and a wide audience' *****

More Books:

The Sweetness of Water
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Nathan Harris
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-06-15 - Publisher: Hachette UK

**OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB PICK FOR SUMMER 2021** '[A] highly accomplished debut' Sunday Times An extraordinary novel of life after slavery for readers of WASHINGTON BLACK, THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD and DAYS WITHOUT END. In the dying days of the American Civil War, newly freed brothers Landry and Prentiss find themselves cast
Today's Black Woman
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Nathan Harris
Categories: African American women
Type: BOOK - Published: 1999 - Publisher:

Books about Today's Black Woman
Quill & Quire
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Nathan Harris
Categories: Book industries and trade
Type: BOOK - Published: 2001 - Publisher:

Books about Quill & Quire
School Library Journal
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Nathan Harris
Categories: Children's libraries
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007 - Publisher:

Books about School Library Journal
Paris Access
Language: en
Pages: 216
Authors: Richard Saul Wurman
Categories: Paris (France)
Type: BOOK - Published: 1990 - Publisher: Access

Books about Paris Access

Popular All Time

Sandcastle
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba, Vol. 23
Chainsaw Man, Vol. 3
Jujutsu Kaisen, Vol. 11
Chainsaw Man, Vol. 4
Chainsaw Man, Vol. 2
Chainsaw Man, Vol. 6
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba, Vol. 12
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba, Vol. 11
Chainsaw Man, Vol. 5
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba, Vol. 9
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba, Vol. 13
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba, Vol. 10
Chainsaw Man, Vol. 1
Attack on Titan Volume 29
Invincible Compendium Vol. 2
Don't Toy With Me, Miss Nagatoro Volume 2
Berserk Volume 1

Recent Books: