A Gambling Man

A Gambling Man is a portrait of Charles II, exploring his elusive nature through the lens of these ten vital years - and a portrait of a vibrant, violent, pulsing world, racked with plague, fire and war, in which the risks the king took ...

A Gambling Man

A Gambling Man

Charles II was thirty when he crossed the Channel in fine May weather in 1660. His Restoration was greeted with maypoles and bonfires, like spring after long years of Cromwell's rule. But there was no going back, no way he could 'restore' the old. Certainty had vanished. The divinity of kingship fled with his father's beheading. 'Honour' was now a word tossed around in duels. 'Providence' could no longer be trusted. As the country was rocked by plague, fire and war, people searched for new ideas by which to live. Exactly ten years later Charles II would stand again on the shore at Dover, laying the greatest bet of his life in a secret deal with his cousin, Louis XIV. The Restoration decade was one of experiment: from the science of the Royal Society to the startling role of credit and risk, from the shocking licence of the court to the failed attempts at toleration of different beliefs. Negotiating all these, Charles II, the 'slippery sovereign', played odds and took chances, dissembling and manipulating his followers. The theatres were restored, but the king was the supreme actor. Yet while his grandeur, his court and his colourful sex life were on display, his true intentions lay hidden. A Gambling Man is a portrait of Charles II, exploring his elusive nature through the lens of these ten vital years - and a portrait of a vibrant, violent, pulsing world, racked with plague, fire and war, in which the risks the king took forged the fate of the nation, on the brink of the modern world.

More Books:

A Gambling Man
Language: un
Pages: 592
Authors: Jenny Uglow
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-11-05 - Publisher: Faber & Faber

Charles II was thirty when he crossed the Channel in fine May weather in 1660. His Restoration was greeted with maypoles and bonfires, like spring after long years of Cromwell's rule. But there was no going back, no way he could 'restore' the old. Certainty had vanished. The divinity of
A Gambling Man
Language: un
Pages: 438
Authors: David Baldacci
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-03-30 - Publisher: Macmillan

A lucky roll of the dice. California, 1949. Aloysius Archer is on his way to start a new job with a renowned Private Investigator in Bay Town. Feeling lucky, he stops off at a casino in Reno, where he meets an aspiring actress, Liberty Callahan. Together, they head west on
A Gambling Man
Language: un
Pages: 448
Authors: David Baldacci
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-04-15 - Publisher: Aloysius Archer series

Evoking the golden age of crime and for fans of Raymond Chandler and Agatha Christie, comes A Gambling Man from one of the world's bestselling thriller writers, David Baldacci. A lucky roll of the dice It is nearly 1950 and Aloysius Archer is on his way to Bay Town, California
A Gambling Man
Language: un
Pages: 580
Authors: Jennifer S. Uglow
Categories: Great Britain
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009 - Publisher:

Charles II was thirty when he crossed the Channel in fine May weather in 1660. His Restoration was greeted with maypoles and bonfires, like spring after long years of Cromwell's rule. But there was no going back, no way he could 'restore' the old. Certainty had vanished. The divinity of
Ace - Deuce
Language: un
Pages: 300
Authors: J.E. Anderson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-08-16 - Publisher: Author House

The theme of this book is a Tour de Noir of a gamblers life. Written in the third person, it describes the successes and eventual downfall of a young hustler. The book extensively describes gambling situations, cheating moves, scams against casinos and casino methods of cheating players. Heretofore unpublished, and

Popular All Time

LEGO® Awesome Ideas
Una familia anormal. Y el cruce de los universos
Star Wars™ Character Encyclopedia
Cedric The Shark Learns To Count
The Mason Jar Scientist
Balloonology
Ultimate Slime
Big Book of Spy Stuff
Rosie Revere's Big Project Book for Bold Engineers
The Pocket Guide to Mischief
101 Bible Trivia Questions for Children
Iggy Peck's Big Project Book for Amazing Architects
Ancient Earth Journal: The Early Cretaceous
Tea with Milk
Show-How Guides: Hair Braiding
Coding Games in Scratch
La Mariposa
Wangari's Trees of Peace

Recent Books: